Is there a resource for how to use JSON pin names when using PD2dsy?

Apologies if this is in the incorrect place. I’m just starting out with getting pure data patches onto my Daisy Seed and I’m a bit stuck when it comes to the IO naming and JSON.

I understand setting up the custom JSON in order to use different IO on the Daisy Seed but I’m not sure how to format it, what pin names to use and then how to call these in Pure Data itself. Is there any reference anywhere for use with different types of input and output?

Hey mrlargefoot!

You came to the correct place! I wrote a quick tutorial over on our discord server, so I’ll migrate it over here for you. We’re planning on making a video about in the near future (I actually have the script done), but this guide should get you started.

Here, we have a [receive] object that has “knob” as an argument. The idea is that we want that object to output 0.0 to 1.0 when we twist a potentiometer that’s connected to the Daisy in the physical world.

knob_pd2dsy

But, flashing this patch without any custom JSON won’t do anything. So, let’s have a custom JSON that will get this working!

Here’s customseed.json

{
    "name": "customseed",
    "som": "seed",
    "components": {
        "knob": {
            "component": "AnalogControl",
            "pin": 15
        }
    }
}

You can copy and paste this into a .txt file (plain text and not rich text) using TextEdit for example. And you can simply change the extension from .txt to .json.

You may have noticed that there’s “knob” in this JSON file. As you guessed it, that corresponds to "knob" in the [receive] object!

But how does it know which pin the potentiometer’s analog out is connected to? That’s where that "pin": 15 comes in.