Pin explanation for absolute beginner

Can someone recommend a link to documentation/tutorials regarding the pin in and outs? I don’t understand what pin does what. I understand the software/Oopsy side, but I don’t have any experience with hardware whatsoever and I find it all a bit confusing.

I also read comments about different revisions of the seed and different pinout schedules, though I can only find one (the one from the shop, which seems to be an older revision?)

Can someone just explain what all these abbreviations mean perhaps?

What I presume, but don’t know for sure, is that I could use every ADC pin as a connection point for a slider/potmeter?

And does digital mean that it accepts 0 and 1 for an input, meaning I could connect switches to all digital inputs?

so that would mean I could connect 11 potmeters/sliders (pin 22 to 32 + 35) and 15 switches? (pin 1 to 15?)

No one has an answer to this?

You have got it right. The ADCx pins A0, A1, … can be used for analog input and, with the exception of power and analog audio in/out, all pins can be configured for digital input and output.

In general, the pins shared between multiple alternate functions and this is configured in software. Pin 22 (A0/D15) on the Daisy Seed, for instance, is either configured for digital input, digital output or analog input. If you follow the examples (e.g. Knob.cpp and Button.cpp) that you probably have downloaded already (Getting Started), you’ll see how that works.

For the more advanced alternate functions, there are also examples and the data books from STMicroelectornics will tell you what all the abbreviations mean. SD CLK and so forth. But faders and buttons is probably a more useful for starters. Good luck!

1 Like