Out of FLASH memory walkthrough with samples

Hello all,

I wrote this as I was working through my “out of flash memory” options and truly digging in to figure out how to utilize the different memory options on the Daisy Seed. As I was writing this out I thought it would be good to share what I have learned so that it may help other people.

Before I get into it I want to say a huge thank you to all who are on the forums and the Discord channel and a special thank you to @antisvin and @shensley for their thoughts on this write-up. Without the collective help and answers I would not be able to complete this write-up, nor get to this next level to build my upcoming sequencer.

Please note that I am new to embedded programming and this is my first deep dive into solving this type of problem. If anyone reads through this and has questions, please ask, and moreover if you see something incorrect or a better way to solve this please let me know.

Overview

This document is set up with sections discussing options on ways to manage the challenge of having a full FLASH. Each section is designed to be a standalone to help you try out the one idea and if that is enough, excellent. If not, you can try the next section.

Here is the high level of the concepts addressed in this article.

1. Reduce code size by turning on the optimizer
    This may be good enough to help you keep coding. :blush:
  2. Putting large memory usage in SDRAM
    If you have large memory structures, you can move them to SDRAM to clear up space.
  3. Moving to the Daisy Bootloader to help load content into other areas of available RAM helping you have more space for coding. We will explore using the SRAM bootloader option with the Daisy Seed bootloader. Note: there is a QSPI option as well, not covered here.
  4. You moved to the SRAM bootloader but your DTCMRAM is full