So, how are you setting up your folders/Git?

OK, so a bit of a newb question here. I’m a data scientist/Python programmer in real life, and I am used to using Git to manage my own code. However, I’m not a Git expert and what I want to do is kind of backwards from how I usually work.

I’m on a Mac, using VSCode. I cloned the DaisyExamples repository fine and can build, modify and run the examples fine. So far so good!

Now I want to set up my own project space separate to that - however I want to be able to update the libDaisy and DaisySP as they are updated. I also want to keep my code under Git control (but not necessarily push anything back, you really don’t want my s*** code).

Should I just clone libDaisy and DaisySP and keep them separate to my project? How are you organizing your project folders and using Git?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I just like things to be clean. Any advice hambly accepted.

Thanks! Chris.
1 Like

The way I’ve been setting up my external projects is to create a new repo for that project specifically, and include submodules for libdaisy and daisysp.

This makes it very easy to keep the libraries at a specific commit, or on a different working branch/fork. With the libraries still being young and changing a bit, this is nice since I can choose when to refactor the project’s internal code for any changes in the libraries.

For the project itself it uses a Makefile similar to the DaisyExamples repo examples that points to each directory and includes the core/Makefile in libdaisy.

2 Likes

Thanks, I think the fresh repo + submodules is the route I will try first.

Hi, not sure if this is relevant here but it’s as close to the topic as I could find:
I am not using Git but working with a local clone of DaisyExamples.
My folder structure is like /dev/DaisyExamples/{lib and daisySP folders}.
Then my own projects are at /dev/own/{project folders}.