Sending Midi to Daisy Pod from Arduino Uno

Hello everyone!

I’m very new to this, so apologies if my question is obvious, I’ve just not been able to find specific information for my use case.

The objective:
–To use minimum requirements in both code and circuitry to enable an Arduino Uno to send Midi to the Daisy Pod. The Pod would have the ‘Midi’ example patch flashed (simple oscillator waiting to receive noteOn messages).

How to wire up the Uno to the Pod?
My understanding is the Daisy Pod Midi input is configured as Type A, meaning the tip is the data (or sink, or Rx), the ring is voltage (ideally 3.3v but I read the D14 Rx pin is 5v tolerant, so should work without a voltage shifter?), and the sleeve is Ground. My confusion starts at the crossover between the two, and the path from TRS jack on the Pod to the actual pins of the Daisy. Ignoring best practice for now, can it be as simple as…
Arduino TX > TRS tip
Arduino 5v > TRS ring
Arduino GND > TRS sleeve
…or am I overlooking something?

Thanks in advance for reading this far and again for any clarity you can bring,
all the best!

You just need to add MIDI Out on the Arduino side (2 resistors and a MIDI connector). The MIDI connector could be either the standard 5 pin DIN (in that case you will need MIDI to trs type A cable) or stereo jack wired as MIDI Type A.

This is a great article to get you started: https://minimidi.world/

2 Likes

Thanks KnightHill,

I can confirm that the Arduino outputs MIDI data, testing into a DAW through my interface, it’s running code:

#include <MIDI.h>

MIDI_CREATE_DEFAULT_INSTANCE();

void setup()
{
pinMode(LED_BUILTIN, OUTPUT);
MIDI.begin(MIDI_CHANNEL_OFF);
}

void loop()
{
digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, HIGH);
MIDI.sendNoteOn(42, 127, 1);
delay(1000);
MIDI.sendNoteOff(42, 0, 1);
digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, LOW);
delay(1000);
}

I’ve now wired up the Arduino to Daisy (loaded with the Midi example of the DaisyDuino>Pod examples) using a 3.5mm TRS to breadboard pins I had prepared.