Porting Mutable Instruments code

Total noob here who just received my daisy :slight_smile:

Mutable Instruments is my favorite Eurorack manufacturer and I know that all of Emilie’s code is available open source on her github.

I also know that some of her modules have been ported to pure data.

Is anyone interested in integrating mutable instruments code (for example the various algorithms from braids / plaits or maybe even the sequencer / quantizer from Marbles) to a format that would be compatible with the daisy? I’m assuming it would be okay to parse out separate elements and add them to the DaisySP library but I have no idea how to go about that. It looks like there is one little limiter originally from Mutable Instruments already included in the DaisySP library so it seems like it should be totally doable.

Does anyone have any resources on how I might be able to get started on this?

5 Likes

Totally interested here! If you look through the code base, we’ve already started porting some of the stuff from her stmlib library.

It would be very cool to create some daisysp modules based on various mutable instruments modules.

That said, stmlib can be used with the daisy as well. And with a little bit of wrapper code it would be possible to port entire modules as daisy projects.

One thing to note is many of the processors for mutable instruments modules have flash sizes that are a bit larger (up to 1MB I believe). So some of those would either need to have some code run from the from external flash (support for this is coming soon), or be reworked to use less flash memory.

3 Likes

What exactly does this mean? Haha sorry! Like I said, total noob here.

@shensley MI modules use lots for LUTs, many of those functions can be calculated on the fly due to more powerful CPU.