Performance Daisy VS Axoloti

I’m new to the Daisy but I have some experience with the Axoloti.

Today i have ported a decimation module I have done on the Axoloti to Daisyduino.

So, I was intrigued to compare the Axoloti (that runs at 168MHz) with the Daisy with the same modules.

I use “micro()” to get the timing, reject erroneous values and get a mean value then i divide the time between two sample block (1/1000 s = 1000us) by the time spent in the function.

Stunningly I obtain very similar performance between the Axoloti and the Daisy. Even when using the O3 option.
I expected a x2 ratio.

Is there some option i need to switch on ?

Your test is pointless, that function likely doesn’t give you accurate timing. You should read number of cycles used by your audio callback from DWT->CYCCNT register to get precise measurement in clock cycles. Then you can use that number and calculate time spent processing each sample block or sample based on MCU frequency (note that Daisy is currently clocked at 400Mhz rather than full MCU frequency of 480MHz)

Also, you will probably get better performance from -Os on Daisy as MCU cache would be used more effectively.

Regarding difference between STM32 F4/H7 MCUs, you can expect up to x4 improvement if patch is CPU bound and small or less than x2 if it’s bound by SDRAM latency and cache is not used effectively.

1 Like

but axoloti doesn’t buzz

That’s what i first thought.

With micro() i measured the time spent into the callaback and the time between callbacks.

And the resulting sum is really consistent with 1000us (48 sample block).

And i take a mean value over 1000 processing cycles.

When I duplicated my code the ratio between time spent outside vs inside the callback varied accordingly.

So, sadly, even if micro() is not the most accurate timing method, i think that this is not pointless.

Os was not better than O3.

Hopefully, It may be related to a cache deactivation issue with the Arduino implementation?