Op6: 6-operator FM Synth

This is my first attempt of making something “useful” with Daisy Seed. The last couple of months I’ve been interested in DX7 and FM Synthesis in general, so it had to be an FM Synth ;-).
It reads Yamaha DX7 SysEx (“32 voice bulk dumps”). When received on the Daisy, they are converted to a “native” format. The aim is not to emulate the real thing properly, but patches are quite useful anyway. An there’s a ton of those “bulk dumps” out there.
Source code is here: https://github.com/carlvp/daisylab
…and I’ll upload a demo to youtube.

Hope you’ll take it for a test drive!

6 Likes
6 Likes

This is sounding awesome!! Really useful that you can load in a SysEx file.

I love FM synth so I really appreciate your sharing all this to the community :pray:

Yeah, since there is really no way of creating patches yourself, you do want to load SysEx. But there is a catch. A .syx is about 4K and libDaisy has a limitation when it comes to the size of SysEx transfers (right?). So the .syx needs to be chopped up into several SysEx messages, each of which at most 128 bytes in size. The op6-ui (see github) does just that. The messages are then stiched together again on the Daisy.

Two good sources of .syx files:
http://bobbyblues.recup.ch/yamaha_dx7/dx7_patches.html
https://yamahablackboxes.com/collection/yamaha-dx7-synthesizer/patches

1 Like

Update on Op6
I’d thought I’d share what I’ve been up to lately:

• I’m working on a voice editor, which will allow new op6 patches to be created. I’ll need one or two more rainy weekends before I have something that I can share here.
  • @CtrlAltDel is tweaking op6 for the SG-2 Synth Guitar. Very exciting to see what he’s going to build.
  • The polyphony (number of voices) of op6 has been increased from four to sixteen. So now it actually matches the original DX7 in that respect. Optimization of the hottest loop (the one that processes samples in the FM Operators) made it possible.