macOS C++ IDE

I’m brand new to C++ development and looking for suggestions on setting up a comprehensive dev environment for the daisy on macOS. I’m looking at using VS Code with the Clang/LLVM compiler since it’s free and popular. If anybody uses this setup I’d love to hear your thoughts.

What about the Arduino IDE? I used that nearly a decade ago and recall it also supported flashing firming directly from the editor. Is it viable for daisy dev? Any other IDEs support flashing from the editor?

1 Like

Hi,

I’m using Linux myself, but macOS shouldn’t be particular different in this regards.

First of all, forget about Arduino IDE. It’s not meant to be a great IDE, just an easy way to get started with Arduino development. And this is not an Arduino.

You won’t be compiling native code, but code for ARM architecture. So you need to use cross-compiling toolchain. Generally GCC has been around for longer and is better supported for this task. Clang-based toolchain may work for you as well, but I haven’t used it personally. If you’re not sure what you’re doing, it’s probably safer to start with GCC.

Highly recommended to get a cheap ST-link clone and setup Cortex Debug extension for VSCode. You can load firmware directly from IDE by using integration with OpenOCD.

I’ve recently started using PlatformIO as a replacement for the Arduino IDE, for teensy development. It’s a plugin for the Atom text editor, which I was already using a lot, so it seemed perfect for me.

Haven’t tried it with daisy yet but it supports all Arduino chips and STM32 among others, so I think it would be viable with daisy, and it does support flashing directly from the IDE.

PlatformIO is much more than Atom plugin. It’s a cross-platform environment that can be integrated with multiple IDEs. It’s working great out of the box in about 90% cases, remaining 10% require hacks with python scripting (sure, it could be worse than that).