How to use Pod Switches with Oopsy and Gen~?

I have a Gen~ patch that relies on toggles from a MAX/MSP patch. It expects a toggle to be either On or Off and produce a continuous stream of 1 or 0 respectively. How do I translate MAX/MSP toggles to the Pod switches using Oopsy. Are they toggles or are they latch? Can this be configured? Can I use some gen~ object to translate the input to On/Off. I’m a noob here so I’m happy to get some explanation.

Hi David!

With Oopsy, it’s the [gen~] that is compiled and anything outside of that (Max [toggle] for example) will not be compiled.

So, what you need to do is use the [param sw1] and [param sw2] operators inside of [gen~].
Here’s a patch that you can put together quickly. Create and connect these set of operators inside the [gen~] object in your Oopsy patch.

Screenshot 2023-06-22 at 4.03.08 PM

Then, select Pod, put your Pod into bootloader mode, and flash. Now, you should be able to press the buttons on your Pod and the LEDs should light up. For example, press down on the left button and the left LED will light up blue!!

And I highly recommend checking out the Pod template patch which you can find in Max 8Packagesoopsytemplatesoopsy_pod.maxpat. Analyzing it will help you understand how the hardware on your Pod are used in [gen~].

Let me know if you have any questions!

I got all of that! My program runs on the device via the Max template for DaisyPod. My question was specifically how to read the “param sw1” and “param sw2”. Do they produce a continuous stream of 0s if not pressed? And 1s if pressed? Or is it like a toggle On/Off. I’m having trouble figuring this out and not getting much result from them. Thanks again.

OK. I guess I can test this with the patch you sent.

1 Like

Thank you for the clarification!

Definitely, you will get a better sense of what’s going on by testing out that patch.