Display libraries conflicts with Midi messages

Hello everyone

I am finding an issue related to displays conflicting with midi messages. I am not the best developer out here and this is my first project ever so my appologies for the long topic and please accept my stupidity.

To start with I have built an ecludean sequencer with an Arduino Nano and the idea was to change to Daisy so that i could do more with it. Converting from Arduino to Daisy was easy, just changed some pins initiliasation and everything worked flawlessly. Then it was time to start working on the new functionalities and my first priority is to sync other devices with my sequencer, in my case I want to send a midi clock and keep my sequencer as master.

In my first test I was using the Adafruit library with I2C communication on a 128x64px oled display and millis() to handle the timing for the sequencer. Internally the timing is ok, not perfect but I can understand that using millis will not be the best solution. I am also using the Midi library to handle anything related to midi.

When i first tested the sync on Ableton it showed a flxed clock of around 103bpm when on my Daisy display the clock was 120 so the clocks were not in sync. Thats when i started debugging and noticed that for some reason the 103bpm had nothing to do with the timing i coded to send the clock messages. I even removed code and kept only MIDI.sendRealTime(midi::Clock); without timing and noticed that ableton was still getting a clock of 103bpm.

After a lot of debugging i removed everything that was related to the display from the code and all of a sudden Ableton was perfectly in sync with the Daisy. Thats when i noticed that the display somehow is conflicting with the midi messages.

2nd test was using the U8g2lib for display instead of Adafruit but this time the clock was even worst, around 30bpm and litteraly frozen its like the midi start messages arent being sent.