Designing a keyboard with MIDI interface on Daisy seed?

Hello everyone, I am new with Daisy so I need your help to figure out which things I need for this design (or maybe if you recommend not to use Daisy for this)

So the device I will design is something similar to samplerbox.org

-You turn it ON, and it will read sound files from an external memory. It will complete all the music notes that are not in those files by editing the other sound frequency

I think it will need to have a big RAM memory to store those sounds (is it possible for Daysi seed to upgrade RAM for this?)

-Then it will have a MIDI interface to connect a MIDI keyboard, to activate the sounds when a note is pressed

So tell me id this is possible on Daysi seed , or if you know about a similar project. I know there is Daisy Pod that could be more “ready to use” for my project, but it is a bit out of my budget

Thanks, and please tell me if you understood what I wrote (not native English) I will happily edit it for you to understand

Quite possible to do this on the Seed. You won’t get 128 note polyphony but hardly a problem on a 2 octave keyboard :slight_smile: Do you want to use USB or DIN MIDI ? And obviously less sounds stored on the Seed but the SDRAM is more than large enough for something decent.

1 Like

Thanks for your response

A polyphony of 4-6 would be perfect, but I am concerned about the delay and the quality of the output sound. Do you know how much miliseconds of delay and bits would I get?

I would prefer DIN MIDI, but that’s not very important. Why do you ask?

I looked again and just read that has 64Mb of SDRAM, I think that is enough for any 2-octaves sample

Other thing that I would like to do is to put a screen on the device, to read the name of the instruments. Is that possible on Daysi Seed? I saw a project (Pollen 8) that only used led lights to “comunicate” with the user