Cassetta-digital tape delay tutorial

I am currently finishing my studies on Sound and Music Computing Aalborg University of Copenhagen and I am so excited with Daisy platform since it’s a very useful tool for me! I played a lot with Daisy Seed between March-May 2021 and I have created a tutorial on how to make your own realtime dsp effect on Max/Gen~ embedded on Electrosmith Daisy Seed platform. I tried to make it as clear as I could and it is mostly based on my experience with this platform. Enjoy!

7 Likes

Great project, Archelaos! Nice to see that pitch-shifting works well through Oopsy. I’ve been struggling to figure out a better pitch shifting option beyond the DaisySP effect - which has more aliasing than I would like.

I’ll have to try working with MAX and Graham’s patch on the cycling ’74 forum. Thanks for sharing your project!

1 Like

I’m new to all this. A Patch.(init) I ordered came in the mail last week. I jumped off with this project to get me going. I made a delay based off of this, that so far seems solid and useful on the patch.(init) (using max, gen~, oopsy).

I added some different random LFO shenanigans for modulating the delay time.

I also added clock/gate_in/tap tempo control (based off of the Rebel Technologies Delay tempo synch tutorial OWL Max Tutorial 3: Tempo Sync Delay – Rebel Technology ).

Also a clock out from derived from the final delay frequency. That clock out is currently tapped after the random LFO modulation so turning up the random stuff, it can be used to make a clock with some controllable randomization.

I also have the delay clock going to the LED on the patch.(init) for visual feedback.

The four knobs on the patch.(init) are the same for the most part
1 - delay time (when clocked it controls a division of the clocked tempo)
2 - tone
3 - feedback/stereo adjustment (in stereo mode)
4 - mix

cv5 - nothing yet
cv6 - an offset control for the channel 2 delay time
cv7 - random mod amount
cv8 - random mod speed control