Basic step sequencer

Hi
I’m new to daisy and I’ve bought a Pod like a year ago. Now I’ve decided to give a try and try to build a basic step sequencer (just sequence a sine wave), change note for each step and hopefully have 16 steps. I’ve looked at the Pod sequencer example, but there’s a lot of stuff I don’t understand what it does, just wanted to check if there’s a simpler version of this sequencer or what are the important parts in that code I should be considering for this first project.

Thanks!

@Ulozilla,

Hi, happy to help where I can here… I am reasonably new to the platform as well, so I am happy to share some of things I have learned. There is a good primer around here (somewhere) on how the basics of the core work in the Daisy.

I’ll put a few things in here and if some of you know and you are looking for other items, please feel free to let me know and i’ll do what I can to help. :slight_smile:

Some thoughts:

1. The Audio Callback is called on a timer to ensure good audio throughput and no skipped / broken up audio. Thus, you will see that the number of audio block sizes can be set… the small, the faster and more immediate the response / less audio lag. pod.SetAudioBlockSize(4);

2. This audio callback is always running once you call: pod.StartAudio(AudioCallback); - this is why the main program loop is nothing more than a “while(1) {}” in this app. All of the setup is done before the audio callbacks start and there all the work is done insides of the audio callback function. You do have to be careful not to overload the time it takes to complete work in this audio callback function. Thus, it may be necessary to off load things that can be interrupted in the main loop.

3. the main app loop can, and will be, interrupted by the audio callback as noted above to ensure that audio stays flowing without breakups.