Basic Multi-Effect Pedal

Put a few examples into a basic pedal for my needs.

For now, it’s just reverb, delay, gain, and pitch shifting. Definitely needs some work, but you can make some pretty neat sounds with this combination of effects.

Let me know if you find it useful or want to improve it.

P.S. this is my first time using C++. Don’t judge my code too much.

9 Likes

This is great - thank you so much!

Np, I’m still learning about DSP programming so there are definitely clipping issues in this version (esp. with feedback delay on). I’ll be updating it over time and posting here when major changes go into the repo.

Just pushed a new version of the “basic” pedal.

Here’re the changes:

• Added distortion controls (both tanh and arctan are available. Switch between via a toggle switch to hear the differences)
  • Simplified dry/wet crossfade for reverb
  • Added dry/wet crossfade for pitch shifting
  • Removed delay (will add back later)

Plans for the next version:

• Add compression controls
  • Add better delay
2 Likes

Thank you again. This is really helping me understand how to get started with programming the petal. Keep it coming!

By the way - I am finding there’s a lot of latency. Are you, or is that something particular to my setup? Am testing Guitar->Petal->Amp so nothing else in the chain. Even with all effects off I’m getting lag between plucking a string and hearing it through the amp.

1 Like

@jon The pitch shift effect definitely introduces latency over time. It’s not perfect, so I normally turn Knob 2 all the way down to bypass pitch shifting.

(I really only use shifting when I’m recording into Ableton for an effect)

The other effects don’t introduce much latency at all for me, though reverb kind of does by design.

Ah - thought I had everything switched off, but maybe the pitch shift was engaged. Will test later and report back. And, yes, this was definitely latency not reverb!

Thanks again - really cool.

1 Like