Audio in/output isolation and amplification

Hey peeps, I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to hardware design and couldn’t really find the info I was after. Basically, I had the idea of using input and/or output transformers to add a bit more ‘vibe’ or saturation to audio signals running through the patch(init) or SM.

Is the submodule already isolated from external interference and already match/change impedance? Whats the maximum input/output voltage range and is there any benefit stepping it up or down voltages using transformers to maximise headroom or SNR?

I have a multiband mastering compressor I’ve made mostly in gen~ and I figured using some cinemag or similar transformers on the input and a neve or api style preamp on the output could turn it into something really special.

1 Like

The patchSM (and by extention init) are designed with eurorack inpedences in mind. Looking at the datasheet, itbhas 100k input and 100r output inpedences, and +/-5v (10v peak to peak), though it can handle input and output signals up to +/-12v. In assuming inputs this hot would cause distortion though. This is so the patchSM can have input/output jacks connected directly to pins with no additional circuitry.

But with those numbers in mind it would be really cool to see some transformers on a patchSM’s inputs or outputs. I did a little research into using transformers for adding vibe to digital signals a while ago, and the general advice seemed to be cheaper transformers had more vibe. The expensive cinemags were more transparent. I ended up deciding I needed to know more about transformers and signals before spending money on some though.

If you find a transformer that works and sounds good on euro level inputs without messing with volume or inpedence on the output too much, I would love to know about it!

Patch SM is probably not the best option for this, if you wanted to go full on full on.