Alternative components

Hello,
first time posting on the forum so I would like to congratulate the Daisy team on their fantastic work. It’s been a great learning resource on all things STM and audio.

I have some experience developing other types of interactive music systems but not so much with STMs. I started with the the official STM tools (Cube) and then landed on Daisy. My goal is to create a commercial synthesizer so I’m using Daisy has a reference but ultimately I want to produce my own boards. Since there’s less space restrictions on my board I would like to avoid BGAs, so I can have 4-layer boards and cook them at home.

That said I’ve had some hard time sourcing some components, which leads to my questions:

1. I was thinking about substituting the STM32H750 for a STM32H753, which seems to be pin-to-pin compatible but with more memory. What would I need to change on libdaisy to accommodate this STM? I imagine the contents on libdaisy/core? How would I go about doing that? I would also have to change the memory map to avoid address clashing with SDRAM and so on.

2. The AK4556 can’t be found anywhere and is listed as obsolete on Digikey. Is the WM8731 the more sound substitute? I realized you updated its source files recently, so would this codec be a good bet for the future?

Thanks!

You shouldn’t have problems with SDRAM address on a chip with bigger memory, extra SRAM would not use the same address as SDRAM. But also, you don’t really need to use libDaisy if you plan to use another MCU and different set of peripherals. To me it makes more sense to use CubeMX from the beginning instead of editing libDaisy.

WM8731 is a rather old chip whose audio quality is not particularly impressive. It’s very common, but I can think of at least 3 major eurorack companies that used it initially and switched to something better. It belongs to the past, not future.

Hi Antisvin,