Multiple multiplexer (4051) sharing the same address, but diferent analog input pin

Hello,
I’m still learning the software and hardware aspect around the daisy. Sorry if it’s an obvious question, but I did not find example of hardware using multiple 4051 mux.

Is it possible to have multiple multiplexer sharing the same 3 pin for the address, and connect the output to different analog input pin?

for the board definition initialisation, will something like this works ?
// POT MUX
adc_cfg[0].InitMux(seed.GetPin(PIN_ADC_POT_MUX1),
seed.GetPin(PIN_MUX_SEL_0),
seed.GetPin(PIN_MUX_SEL_1),
seed.GetPin(PIN_MUX_SEL_2));
adc_cfg[1].InitMux(seed.GetPin(PIN_ADC_POT_MUX2),
adc_cfg[2].InitMux(seed.GetPin(PIN_ADC_POT_MUX3),
seed.adc.Init(adc_cfg, 3);

// Order of pots on the hardware connected to mux.
for(size_t i = 0; i < 24; i+=3)
{
    knob_[i    ].Init(seed.adc.GetMuxPtr(0, i    ), AudioCallbackRate());
    knob_[i+1].Init(seed.adc.GetMuxPtr(1, i+1), AudioCallbackRate());
    knob_[i+2].Init(seed.adc.GetMuxPtr(2, i+2), AudioCallbackRate());
}

thanks

This totally looks like it should work.

For reference, in case you didn’t already see it, here is the ADC Init for the DaisyField (which uses a Mux for the 8 knobs, and has the 4 CVs connected to other inputs). Note that “4” in the Pot Mux Init is hard coded since the first four adc inputs are the CVs.

I have definitely done exactly this on other STM32 hardware before, but I can’t remember off the top of my head if I’ve done it with libdaisy yet. So if something doesn’t work as expect chime back here and I’ll help you get it sorted.

hello @shensley,
thanks for your reply,

I also did this using various µC, but my question was specifically about libdaisy implementation.
it will work if libdaisy is doing something like :
while true {
set mux address for 1st conversion on analog input 1
convert analog value on input 1
set mux address for 1st conversion on analog input 2
process analog value on input 2
etc …
}